WEAR: Woolrich Footwear

woolrichfootwearoldrsistr woolrichfootwearoldrsistr

We have officially entered the time of year during which I wear my Carhartt beanie around the apartment from sun-up to sun-down, drink hot toddy’s almost exclusively, and have monthly aneurysms when I open my heating bills. This is not all bad, as it is also the time of year when I get to bring out all manner of work boots from my closet in the name of seasonally appropriate dressing.

Intended for men, the Yankee Buck Boot by Woolrich Footwear was designed to pay homage to classic workwear boot styles from the turn of the century. Although a bit serious in profile, during this time of year the look is more sensible than steampunk and I find myself reaching for these when shoveling snow, running icy errands to the Home Depot, and for any and all other seemingly un-sexy city slicker winter tasks. The leather from Chicago’s Horween Tannery is ultra tough and there’s nothing more satisfying that walking on a comfortable Vibram sole.

Currently in it’s first year, the Made-in-the-USA boot collection from Woolrich boasts exemplary materials, classic designs, and superior goodyear welted construction.  The smattering of women’s styles offered for this inaugural collection were good (most notably the handsome Deadeye Boot) but I am especcially looking forward to the brand’s expansion of their made-in-the-usa footwear collection for women; slated for a fall/winter 15 release. I’ve always been a wearer of vintage work boots so it’s super gratifying to see brands like Woolrich and Red Wing branch into re-inventing these heritage styles for women specifically — all while keeping the ethos, quality, and craftsmanship essentially the same.

woolrichfootwear woolrichfootwear woolrichfootwear