MUSES: Chan Marshall 

Okay, so where’s home for you now? 

Chan: Uhh, I don’t know.

But you’ve been in New York for a while… 

Chan: I don’t know. I’ve been traveling for like four years straight so I’m not living anywhere. I mean here [in New York] I have my permanent apartment, but I’m always leaving. It’s hard to explain. There’s a big map in my mind and I don’t know dates and I don’t know days, but I know cities and I know the amount of time I’m supposed to be in each place. That’s about all I can tell you. But home? No, I don’t have a home yet… Now as I get older, I don’t know what I’m going to do. Because I am going to be getting a lot older.

But you’re 30, which isn’t that old. 

Chan: 30 wasn’t a big deal, but when I’m 40 I’m going to be so much more tired of doing this than I am now. It’s really wearing me out.

What’s made you tired?

Chan: Just traveling and playing shows. It’s hard to talk about it ’cause it’s just stupid. I just basically go somewhere play a show and then go somewhere else. That’s just what I do. I don’t have any routine. I’m lucky if I brush my teeth twice a day. I love taking baths when I have time and I don’t have any kind of ritual at all.

Better than the traditional 9-to-5 rat race, though, don’t you think? 

Chan: Yeah, but I really crave the dog, the garden, cooking out. I miss the stability. Coming back here it’s really hard to go into this really small room and feel like you’re at home, when you don’t have a kitchen and you have two roommates. Home is really… I’d really love to have kids one day and that sort of thing… home and family. Those things would be really great, but I don’t have that now, so there’s no point in sticking around anywhere.

Full Interview here