READ & WRITE: Come on In My Kitchen

I am trying to get up at least by 10 a.m. First thing, I throw on some jeans, a T-shirt and my Keds sneakers and make coffee. That is actually my favorite time of day. That is when I do my songwriting, when I am in writing mode.
– Lucinda Williams

The New York Times, February 25th 2009


It’s important to find that place where one can sit down and just — write. A room, or a table, or a certain chair, or a sunny spot by some window where the mind can unclench, the body can relax, and the subconscious can get to work.  Sometimes this space is found through habit or creation. For me, it’s the little room outside my kitchen.

Here is where I have a desk, a shelf of old journals, photos on the wall in front of me, and little else.  On days when I have nowhere to be until late afternoon (a rare treat) I like to get up early, put Cat Power on the record player and some coffee in the pot, eventually heading to the desk to write sometime around 9am. This is where I feel the most myself, always with hair down and boots on.