WEEKENDS: Whitewashed

White shirts and simple hand-cream for wind-chapped hands, effortless pull-on boots, men’s cologne, the latest from la garçonne, and a parade of days spent meditating on matters of beauty, purpose, and best intentions.This is my mulligan, my do-over, this weekend.Have been taking the last sixty-four hours to clear the decks of any outstanding duties and obligations, clearing my head through rest, list-making, tea-drinking, and gentle exercise. The result is a mind and body that feels whitewashed, and renewed —  fresh enough to be filled with the new that is certain to greet all of us this spring.

weekendwhite

la garconne

1/
I believe there are three conditions to a woman’s beauty. First, you must realize that not all women are beautiful all of the time. Sometimes beauty comes on a subconscious level. When she is in love, or has met someone new and exciting, she shines.
Second, you must understand that life is unfair.  Beauty is something that for some, must be worked at.
The third condition is luck. Some women can just be lucky.

 

2/
My role in all of this is very simple. I make clothing like armor. My clothing protects you from unwelcome eyes.

 

3/
Color, for me, has too many stories wrapped around it. I like black, gray, and navy. Like a uniform.

 

4/
You can tell what a woman is going to be like in bed just by looking at her.
There is a feeling about someone that comes from experience.
When you’ve seen it once, you will recognize it again.

 

5/
Fashion cannot make you sexy. Experience makes you sexy.
Imagination makes people sexy. You have to train yourself, you have to study, and you have to live your life.

 

Y O H J I

Y A M A M O T O