DENIM DIARIES: noble denim

nobledenim

I met Noble Denim when Chris Sutton and his crew rolled up to NorthernGrade in Minneapolis last November. I approached their booth at my preferred pop-up men’s mart, and Chris complemented me on my jeans.

I told him they were a pair of Levi’s 511’s, my go-to men’s fit, and that they were Made in the USA from Cone Mills selvedge denim. “I’m always looking for another pair of slim-fitting men’s jeans I can call my own,” I told Chris, and that is when he introduced me to Earnest.

All of their fits being named after writers, Earnest is the Noble Denim answer to a slim straight jean. Earnest, just like my  Levi’s — is made from Cone Mills denim,14 ounces of it, and boasts screen-printed pocket bags and a hand-stamped back patch.

I walked away from that brief and impersonal exchange impressed, inspired, and with a business card onto which I had scrawled ‘EARNEST’ placed firmly in my front coat pocket.

Recently, Noble has been partnering with other apparel manufacturing facilities around the country (in addition to the one they staff in Ohio) for production of their impeccable product. This video tells the story of one such factory in Tennessee.

A friend asked me recently why I believe Union-made products are worth it. For the purposes of my upcoming guest post on her site, I won’t tell you what I said. It was too verbose anyways.  What I will say is my dedication to makers and designers who live here is because of stories like this.

creative direction: chris sutton
videography: johnathan robert willis
music + audio: christian hersha
editing: nate clark